Win a Wrike Discover Silver Certification valued at $299!

Help us to ensure you're getting the most out of Wrike by completing this short survey about your specific needs and you'll be in with a chance to win!*

Terms and Conditions

Close window Take the survey
All articles

Editing, Deleting, and Disabling Automation Rules

Table 201. Availability - Legacy plans


Overview

Account admins and owners can manage automation rules. On Enterprise accounts, these rights can be revoked from admins.

If necessary, you can edit any part of the automation rules and delete them at any time. In case the rule is automatically disabled due to its conditions no longer being operable, you also need to edit the rule before you can enable it. For example, it can happen when someone deletes the workflow status or the destination folder that an action depended on.

Additionally, if you no longer need an automation rule to work, you can disable it instead of deleting in case you might need to enable it again in the future. Wrike can also automatically disable some rules, in case their conditions are no longer operable, e.g., when someone deletes the workflow status or the destination folder that a trigger or action depended on. You can manually edit the broken automation rule and enable it.

Edit automation rules

  1. Click your profile image in the upper-right corner of the workspace.

  2. Select Settings.

  3. Click Automation in the left panel under the Account Management section.

  4. Find the relevant rule in the rule list that opens.

    Tip

    Automatically disabled rules have a red triangle notification icon to the right of their title.

  5. Click the title of the rule to open the rule constructor. Here you can:

    1. Change what the rule should apply to, select tasks or projects, and their source location.

    2. Edit or change the trigger to update the condition that defines in what case the rule should be triggered. To delete the current trigger, hover over its name in the trigger section on the left and click the trash bin icon that appears.

    3. Edit or change the action to update what should happen when the rule is triggered. To delete the current action, hover over its name in the action section on the left and click the trash bin icon that appears.

    4. Edit the title of the rule if necessary: If you change the trigger or action, the original title is not updated automatically.

  6. Click Save in the upper-right corner of the view.

  7. Click Done in the upper-right corner or the caret icon in the upper-left corner to go back to the rule list.

Notice

You might not be able to edit some rules, including the ones created by you, in case you no longer have access to one of the folders, projects, or spaces that the rule depends on. For example, if the folder that the rule applies to is unshared with you, the rule will keep working but you won’t be able to save your edits to it. The same goes for folders, projects, or spaces that triggers and actions depend on. You'll see a notification about it at the top of the view.

Delete automation rules

Note

Deleted automation rules can't be restored.

Automation_Engine_-_Delete_rules.png
  1. Click your profile image in the upper-right corner of the workspace. 1

  2. Select Settings.

  3. Click Automation 2 in the left panel under the Account Management section.

  4. Right-click the relevant rule in the rule list that opens.

  5. Select Delete. 3

  6. Click Delete 4 in the pop-up to confirm your decision.

When you complete the steps, the rule is permanently deleted.

Disable and enable automation rules

Automation_Engine_-_Disable_and_enable_rules.png
  1. Click your profile image in the upper-right corner of the workspace. 1

  2. Select Settings.

  3. Click Automation 2 in the left panel under the Account Management section.

  4. Find the relevant rule in the rule list that opens.

  5. Click the toggle button 3 to the right of the title of the rule under the status column to disable or enable it.

If the toggle button is colored blue, that means that the rule is enabled and is working. The white toggle button signifies that the rule is disabled.

Note

Disabled rules also count toward the limit of 100 rules per account.

Top