how to 'close' a task or project

Hi everybody !

is there a way or workaround to 'close' a task or project, to avoid (too) late time tracking on tasks.

Regards,

Stefan.

Upvote 1
10 comments
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar
Stephen

Hi Stefan, thanks for posting!

Do you mean tasks that have gone over what the time that was allocated?

Sorry if I've misunderstood the question here 😇

1
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar

Hi Stephan,

I mean, if projects, or groups of tasks have been accounted, these tasks should be locked anyway....

Normaly these tasks have the status 'completed' so I can see that ready to account the tracked time entries,

but some colleague do time tracking later.

If a project is closed (all accounted), I want to hide the tasks, so it is no more possible to track.

I do not want to delete tasks..

hmmm,

Stefan.

0
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar
Stephen

Hmmm 🙂

It's a very interesting question Stefan.

To me, it sounds like a step might be missing in your Workflow. So if 'Completed' means the work is only 'complete' you may need another step in the Workflow called 'Completed and tracked'. This way you know if a task is complete, or complete and time tracked and run the Timelog report based on 'Completed and Tracked'.

How does that sound? Hopefully, others might be able to contribute here about how they manage this :)

2
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar

We are in our first few weeks of evaluating Wrike so perhaps this feature exists and we haven't stumbled upon it-- I think what Stefan is referring to is a way to "freeze" a task/project so that no further edits/updates could be done.  We'd be interested in a feature like that as we have an audit process that we need to report on.

1
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar
Stephen

Hi Nancy, thanks for your input - that makes things clearer! There no way to currently freeze a task. However, you could create a Custom Status that indicates the task is in that state. It would still be editable by anyone with shared access but it would indicate that it should be changed/edited. 

As a workaround, you could unshare the task with everyone and move the task to a Folder that is not shared with anyone expect you until it's ready to be worked on again and then move it back and assign/share with the appropriate people. Not ideal and it's fairly manual, but it might help for now.

Perhaps a Product Feedback post about this ability would be interesting to share for votes 👍

0
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar

Hi Stephen,

the workaround by moving a project in an unshared folder (to hide the project) does not work.

If I do so and make an unshared folder (lets say an archive), and move the project inside, the unshared archive of cause is not visible, but the project I moved inside is still visible (like out of the folder) because it is still shared.

hmmmm, any other ideas....

Stefan.

 

0
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar
Stephen

Hi Stefan/Nancy, this is true so you will need to unshare/un-assign the Project before moving it to the 'private' or Archive Folder.

By default, there's no way to lock the editing of tasks after completion. It hasn't come up here before, but it's an interesting use-case for our Product Team to review and it makes a lot of sense to me. I've moved this post to the feedback section here so others interested in it can vote for it and so our Product Team has visibility of the idea.

Just to recap, the full workaround suggested for now is below (and perhaps other members may have another best practice they can share as is often the case).

1. Unassign/remove followers from the task
2. Tag the private/Archive Folder to the task
3. Remove all other tags (so it only exists in the private Folder)

@Nancy - if you want to provide more detail about what kind of audit Reports you'd like to create, I'd be happy to discuss 👍

0
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar

now we solved this by swithing the whole project from status "edit" to status "read only"

Thanks !

0
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar

I think this is a feature it needs to be addressed ASAP. With so many projects in the list, I'm not able to separate the active projects from the completed projects. It should be a way to move the completed projects to an archive folder (that can be accessed at anytime). The only thing I'm able to do is mark the project as complete, but it's hard to navigate through all the completed and active projects all together.

0
Comment actions Permalink
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice
Avatar

Hi Ricardo Nunez, welcome to the Community! 🙂

I'd recommend creating an "Archive" folder and move all completed projects there. How does that sound? 

Lisa Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

Lisa Wrike Team member Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

0
Comment actions Permalink

Folllowing List for Post: how to 'close' a task or project
[this list is visible for admins and agents only]

Top
Didn’t find what you were looking for? Write new post