All articles

Editing and Deleting Сustom Item Types

Table 43. Availability - Legacy plans


Overview

Account owners and admins can edit and delete existing account-level custom item types. Space admins can edit and delete existing space-level custom item types in their space.

Note

On Enterprise accounts, the types of users who are allowed to use this functionality may differ due to user types settings.

You can adjust your custom item types. When you do that, the changes you make to the custom item type are visible in all work created out of this type, even in the work created before you edited the type.

Note

When you change the default workflow in a custom type, it doesn't automatically change in the work created from the custom item type.

Edit custom item types

  1. Navigate to the custom item types gallery:

    1. For space-level types: Click the gear icon to enter space settings, then select Custom item types tab

    2. For account-level types: Click your profile image, select Settings, then click Custom item types in the panel on the left

  2. Click on the relevant type

  3. Make the necessary adjustments in the custom item type editor

  4. Your updates are saved automatically

There are also two alternative ways to open the custom item type editor:

Custom_Item_Types-Open_Editor_Options.png
  • Locate any work item created from a custom item type, open it, click the three-dot menu button in the upper-right corner 1 and click Edit custom item type. 2

  • Locate a work item created from a custom item type and click the name of the type located in the upper-left corner. 3

Delete custom item types

Custom_Item_Types_-_Delete_Types.gif
  1. Navigate to the custom item type gallery

  2. Hover over the relevant type

  3. Click the recycle bin icon that appears in the lower-right corner

  4. Click Delete in the pop-up that appears to confirm your decision

The custom item type is deleted permanently and can't be restored. Users will no longer be able to create new work out of this type, but all previously created work remains in the account.

Top