All articles

Locked Spaces

Table 59. Availability - Legacy plans


Overview

Locked spaces are restricted, secure spaces for confidential collaboration such as at board or executive-level. You may also use Locked spaces to create isolated working spaces for separate customers.

Locked Spaces vs Public and Private Spaces

Public

Private

Locked

Access to items within the space (projects, folders, tasks, tools)

All team members in the account have access.

Space members have access by default. Anyone who has the rights to share information can share items in the space directly with anyone in the account without inviting them to be a member of the space.

Only space members have access to items in the space. There is no way to share it with people outside of the space.

Membership

Space admins can invite users and any user in the account can join

Only space admins can invite users

Regular users can be Locked space admins, however they are not able to invite users to the space. Locked space admins must also be account admins to invite users to the space.

Deleting space

Tasks, folders, and projects in the space are moved to the recycle bin and can be restored, tools in the space are deleted permanently

Tasks, folders, and projects in the space are moved to the recycle bin and can be restored, tools in the space are deleted permanently

Tasks, folders, projects, and tools in the space are deleted permanently

Leaving space

Any user can leave the space

Any user can leave the space

Users cannot leave the space and have to ask the Locked space admin to delete them from the space

Creating a Locked Space

Only Wrike admins with the ability to create spaces can create Locked spaces in their accounts. Locked spaces can also be created via API.

  1. Click the + icon in the top right-hand corner of your workspace and select Space from the dropdown.

  2. Enter a space name, and select Locked as the type of space.

  3. Add members to your space.

  4. Click Create.

Converting Spaces

It is possible to convert a Locked space to a Public or Private space, and vice versa. When doing so the privacy of everything within the space will be altered. See the section Data Sharing in Locked Spaces and Types of Spaces for more info.

To convert any space:

  1. Navigate to the space you would like to convert.

  2. Click the gear icon in the space page's top left-hand corner.

  3. Select the new type of space, Private, Public, or Locked.

    Note

    When converting a locked space, a popup will warn you that the contents of the space will become either public, or shareable outside the space.

  4. Click Save.

If you are converting a Private or Public space into a Locked space, there may be conflicts which need to be resolved before the space conversion can take place. This happens when:

  • Items inside the space are shared with users who are not space members.

  • Tools inside the space have a data source which is outside of the space.

  • Items inside the space are also part of locations outside of the space.

Note

If you convert a space with ongoing approvals to a Locked space, and the approvers are not space members, they will lose access to the task, folder, or project, and be unable to complete the approval.

In this case, when you click Save to convert the space, a dialog box will appear asking you to solve relevant conflicts. Each conflict is displayed with a dropdown of options for solving the conflict. These will include inviting or removing users to/from the space, and removing items either from the space you are converting, or the other spaces they are located in.

Note

Personal spaces cannot be converted into any other kind of space.

Data Sharing in Locked Spaces

By default data created in a Locked space is shared with space members and cannot be shared with people outside of that space. You can use selective sharing to unshare some data from space members.

  • When you are assigning a task, @mentioning a colleague, and adding a follower to a task, project,or a folder in a Locked space, you will only see members of the Locked space as possible options when selecting users.

  • When tagging or moving projects, folders, and tasks located in a Locked space, users will only be able to see the folders and projects of the Locked space as possible locations.

  • Only folders from the Locked space are proposed as locations when duplicating folders and tasks, or creating recurring tasks.

  • When you create a blueprint from an item in a Locked space, it will not be possible to copy descriptions, attachments, assignees, or custom fields as part of the blueprint - this prevents distribution of Locked space content.

Locked Space Management

  • Only space admins can manage space tools (dashboards, calendars, workloads), and space information. Any regular user can be assigned as an admin of a locked space.

  • To manage space members and be able to delete a Locked space, space admins must also have an account admin role.

  • Space members cannot leave a Locked space on their own, they must be removed by a space admin.

Tools in locked spaces

Dashboards, calendars, reports, and workload charts in Locked spaces cannot be shared with users outside the space, or be moved to another space.

Calendars and workload charts can be built based on items from outside a Locked space, but dashboards and reports cannot. If a Public or Private space (which has dashboard or report built based on folders and projects outside the Locked space) is converted to a Locked space, you will be warned that these sources will be removed during conversion.

Note

If a report contains only data sources from outside the space it is located in, and its space is converted to a Locked space, the report will be deleted automatically. In the case of a dashboard there will be no deletion, but the dashboard will be empty.

Report snapshots are not available in Locked spaces at all. If you convert a Space from Public or Private to Locked, all existing snapshots will be deleted and become unavailable.

Top