All articles

Transfer data to another user by deleting user

Table 25. Availability - Legacy plans


Overview

Important

Account owners and admins can transfer data from deleted users, and only to users with regular user type and higher. In Enterprise accounts, admins may have this right disabled.

When you choose to transfer items from the deleted user to another user in the account, this user will see a new folder in their workspace called Name of the user – deleted user resources. All the tasks/projects created, owned, or assigned to the deleted user can be found in this folder. Links to other resources (reports, dashboards, custom fields, etc.) can be found in a task within this folder where all the items created and owned by the deleted user are listed.

Items shared with the deleted user but not with the successor will then be shared with the successor. If the deleted user had a higher access role to a specific item, the successor’s access role for this particular item will be updated.

Item

What happens

Tasks/projects/subprojects

All relevant items are divided into two categories:

  • Assigned tasks and projects

  • Created tasks and projects

Folders/subfolders

All the folders that the user had access to will also be shared with the successor.

Spaces

If the deleted user is a space admin, the successor also becomes an admin for this space.

Personal space

The successor becomes the admin of the deleted user’s Personal space. Note that the successor won’t be able to access smart lists of the deleted user (Created by me and My to-do).

Deleted items

The successor can see and restore data from the deleted user’s Recycle bin (items become shared with them and show up in their own Recycle bin).

Dashboards

Dashboard ownership is transferred to the successor. All the dashboards shared with the deleted user are also shared with the successor with the same access role.

Reports

Reports ownership is transferred to the successor. All reports shared with the deleted user are also shared with the successor.

Calendars

Calendars ownership is transferred to the successor. All calendars shared with the deleted user are also shared with the successor with the same access role.

Request Forms

Request forms assigned to the deleted user are reassigned to the successor. Request forms visible to the deleted user also become visible to the successor.

Custom fields

Custom fields created by the deleted user or shared with them are also shared with the successor.

Automation rules

Ownership of the automation rules created by the deleted user is passed to the successor. Ownership includes rule management and email notifications about the rules.

What's next?

Top