All articles

Sharing Tasks

Regular Users on all account types can share and move tasks.

⏱ 2.5 min read

Overview

Share a task with users or groups to give them access to that task. Tasks can be automatically shared (for example, if a Folder or Project is shared with a user then all tasks within that Folder/Project are automatically shared with that user as well). However, you can also opt to share a task with a user who does not have access to the Folder or Project which the task lives in.

Please note, this page focuses on how to share information, to learn more about the logic behind how sharing works in Wrike, please visit our help center page on SharingIf you’re on a Free or Professional account, please use this page for sharing Tasks, Folders, and Projects

Important Information

  • Tasks are automatically shared with users when you: assign them to a task, @mention them on the task, or include the task in a Task, Folder, or Project which they have access to.
  • Collaborators, External Users, or Regular Users with Editor or Limited Permission rights cannot share items in Wrike.
  • Share a task with the My Team group to share it with all Regular Users who are part of the subscription.
  • Sharing gives users access to information, but you can also follow a task to receive notifications related to that task.
  • You cannot unshare a task from the person who created it.

Share a Task

  1. Open a task. You can do this by selecting a Folder or Project 1 from the left-hand Navigation panel and then clicking a task’s title. 2
  2. Click the share icon 3 on the right-hand side of the Task View.
  3. In the dropdown which appears, begin typing the name of the user who you would like to share the task with. 4
  4. Select the user from the dropdown menu (when you see their name and profile image appear).

Note! when you share a task you automatically share all of its subtasks as well.

ShareTask.png

Unshare a Task

  1. Open a task. You can do this by selecting a Folder or Project 1 from the left-hand Navigation panel and then clicking a task’s title. 2
  2. Click the share icon 3 on the right-hand side of the Task View. Users who the task is currently shared with appear at the top of the dropdown menu which appears.
  3. Hover over the profile image of the user you would like to stop sharing the task with.
  4. Click the “x” 4 that appears in the upper right-hand corner of their profile image.

Note! When you unshare a task: the user who you unshare the task from automatically loses access to all of the task’s subtasks as well (unless the subtasks are tagged in another Task, Folder, or Project which the user also has access to).

UnshareTask.png

View Who a Task is Shared With

  1. Open a task. You can do this by selecting a Folder or Project from the left-hand Navigation panel 1 and then clicking a task’s title. 2
  2. Click on the share icon 3 on the right-hand side of the Task View. Users who the task is currently shared with appear at the top of the dropdown menu which appears 4.

view-share-task

 

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Top