All articles

Sharing Folders and Projects

Regular Users on all account types can share Folders and Projects.

⏱ 4.5 min read

Overview

Share a Folder or Project with users and groups to give them access to that Folder or Project. Once a Folder or Project is shared with a user, they will also have access to all of its Subfolders, Subprojects, tasks, and subtasks. As you add tasks, Subfolders, and Subprojects to a parent Folder/Project, those items are automatically shared with the users and groups who have access to the parent Folder/Project.

Note! If you’re on a Free or Professional account, please use this page for sharing Tasks, Folders, and Projects

Important Information

  • When you unshare a Folder or Project with a user or group, all of its Subfolders, Subprojects, tasks, and subtasks are automatically unshared from that user or group as well. However, if a Subfolder, Subproject, task, or subtask is included in another Folder or Project, which the user is still shared on, then they will still be able to access it.
  • You are not able to unshare a Subfolder or Subproject from a user or group if that user or group has access to a parent Folder or Project.
  • Share a Folder or Project with the My Team group to share it with all Regular Users who are part of the subscription.
  • Sharing gives users access to information, but you can also follow a Folder or Project to receive notifications related to that Folder/Project.

Share a Folder or Project

Option 1

  1. Right click on a Folder or Project from the Workspace’s left-hand Navigation panel. 1
  2. Select “Share” 2 from the dropdown menu which appears.
  3. From the “All Users” tab 3 you will see all users who are part of the subscription. If the Folder/Project is shared with a user their card is blue, and if the Folder/Project is not shared with the user, their card is white. Select the users who you would like to share the Folder or Project with and their card will turn blue 4 to indicate that the Folder or Project will be shared with that user.
  4. Click “Save changes” to apply your changes. 5

Quick Tip: type a user’s name or email in the search field at the top of the share dialogue box to quickly find a specific user.

Option 2

  1. Select a Folder or Project from the Workspace’s left-hand Navigation panel. 1
  2. Click the “Folder info” 2 button on the top right-hand corner of the List View.
  3. Click the “Shared with” icon 3 (located to the right of the attach files icon).
  4. At the top of the dropdown menu 4 are the users and groups who the Project is already shared with. 
  5. Select new users to share the Folder/Project with from under the "Share with" heading. 5 Begin typing their name if you don't see it listed initially. 

Unshare a Folder or Project

Option 1

  1. Right click on a Folder or Project 1 from the Workspace’s left-hand Navigation panel.
  2. Select “Share” 2 from the dropdown menu which appears.
  3. Click on the “Shared with” 3 tab on the left-hand side of the sharing dialogue box. From the Selected tab you’ll see all users who the Folder or Project is shared with.
  4. Click on the user or group who you would like to stop sharing the Folder or Project with. The user’s card will disappear, to indicate that you will no longer be sharing the Folder or Project with them.
  5. Click “Save changes” 4 to save and apply your changes.

Quick Tip: type a user’s name or email in the search field at the top of the share dialogue box to quickly find a specific user.

 

Option 2

  1. Select a Folder or Project 1 from the Workspace’s left-hand Navigation panel.
  2. Click the “Folder info” button 2 in the top right-hand corner of the List View panel.
  3. Click the “Shared with” icon 3 (located to the right of the attach files icon).
  4. At the top of the dialogue box which appears you will see the users and groups the Folder or Project is currently shared with.
  5. Hover over the profile image of the user or group you would like to stop sharing the Folder/Project with.
  6. Click the “x” 4 that appears in the upper right-hand corner of the user’s profile image.

The Folder or Project is no longer shared with that user or group.

 

View Who a Folder or Project is Shared With

Option 1

  1. Right click on a Folder or Project from the Workspace’s left-hand Navigation panel. 1
  2. Select “Share” 2 from the dropdown list which appears.
  3. The “Selected” tab 3: shows cards for each user who the Folder/Project is shared with. All cards on this tab are blue.
  4. The “All users” tab 4: shows cards for each user who is part of the subscription. If the Folder/Project is shared with a user their card is blue, and if the Folder/Project is not shared with the user, their card is white.

Option 2

  1. Select a Folder or Project from the Workspace’s left-hand Navigation panel.
  2. Click the “Folder info” button in the top right-hand corner of the List View.
  3. Click the “Shared with” icon (located to the right of the attach files icon).
  4. At the top of the dialogue box which appears you will see the users and groups the Folder or Project is currently shared with.
0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Top