All articles

Sharing Custom Fields

Table 15. Availability - Legacy plans


Overview

All users, except for collaborators, can share custom fields with other users unless their access role restricts it.

You can share a custom field independently of who a space, folder, or project is shared with. Someone can have access to a space, folder, or project (and all tasks within them), but if a custom field isn’t shared with them, they won’t be able to see the field.

In addition, if a custom field is used in the creation of a dashboard or custom view, but a user does not have this custom field shared with them, the dashboard or view will not appear as expected for that user. Any filtering according to that custom field will not be visible.

The default sharing setting for a custom field is Share with everyone, but you can change this at any time.

Note

Custom fields sharing is only available for account-level custom fields. Space-level custom fields are shared with all space members, and this cannot be changed.

Share custom fields

  1. Start by creating a custom field or editing an existing custom field.

  2. If the custom field is a space-level one, convert it into account-level custom field by following these steps:

    • In the field settings, click on the Belongs to 1 option. A pop-up appears.

      Belongs_to.png
    • Click on the Convert to account field 2 option.

      convert.png
    • The custom field is now an account-level field.

  3. Click the Share with 3 option at the bottom of the field settings pop-up.

  4. Select Specific users 4 option from the dropdown.

    specify_users.png
  5. Click on the Add user 5 option and search 6 for the users you want to share the custom field with.

    add_user.png
  6. Click Create if you are creating a field or Save if you are editing an existing field.

The sharing setting is applied not only to the current folder, project, or space but also to all locations where this custom field is visible. If you revoke users’ sharing access to the field, they will stop seeing it everywhere in the workspace.

Note

To avoid accidental data loss, unsharing a custom field from oneself is not allowed.

What happens after you share custom fields

What it means to share a custom field depends on whether or not a user has access to the folder, project, or space where the field is visible.

Option 1: Share a field with data and as a template

Users who the folder, project, or space is shared with can:

  • See field data that has been entered for items in the folder, project, or space.

  • Add the custom field as a template (see below).

Option 2: Share the field as a template

If users don’t have access to the folder, project, or space where the field is added, the field is shared as a template. These users:

  • Can’t access the folders, projects, or spaces where the field was added. Custom field sharing settings do not change a space, folder, or project's share settings.

  • Don’t automatically see the custom field on associated subfolders or subprojects, but they can add the field by clicking the + icon on the right side of the table and then selecting it from the custom field drop-down. When they add the field, they will see any field data already entered for tasks in the subfolder/subproject. Keep in mind that collaborators can't add fields and will need to ask other users for assistance.

  • Can add a custom field with the same name and field properties as yours to their own folders, projects, or spaces. However, none of the cell data from your field is carried over to them.

FAQ

Can the custom fields order be changed in the 'More fields' section?

Fields inherited from parent locations are sorted alphanumerically in the More field section. If you wish to put fields into a particular order, you can create a custom item type and adjust its settings.

Top