What happens to tasks when a user is deactivated or deleted?

When we have an employee leave the company, what is best practice for reassigning all of their assigned tasks? 

help.wrike.com/hc/en-us/articles/115004530005-Deactivate-Users?flash_digest=8676597e01b459ddc3814c26c51f7192ea4b0447

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos
16 commentaires

You can sort on the Root directory, select to see only active (or All) tasks assigned to the employee that is leaving, and then use mass edit to assign them to someone else. That would be the fastest way. 

2
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos
@Caitlin Hi, thanks for reaching out 🙂
When an employee leaves the company, I'd recommend removing him/her, not deactivating. Account admins can remove users. Reassigning Tasks is a lot quicker with Mass Editing, as @Marj suggests. Filter the Tasks assigned to the employee who leaves, click "Select all" and then reassign them to some other user. 
If you have further questions, I'll be happy to help 🤝
 
 

Lisa Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

Lisa Wrike Team member Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

1
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

Thank you Lisa and Marjorie, this answers my question! 

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

I have an additional question around this topic.  If the user is an owner of projects, and we use that field to search, report, or create dashboards...if the user is deactivated or removed, is the data stored in such a way that we will still be able to search for their projects?

I would want to retain the original ownership of these projects for historical purposes.

Thanks, g.

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

@Gretchen Hi, happy to see you on the Community 🙂

You'll be able to search by the project owner only if the user is deactivated, not removed. That said, I'd recommend changing the owner if the current owner plans to leave and will be removed. 

Any questions, please get back to me 🙌

Lisa Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

Lisa Wrike Team member Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

@Lisa Thank you for your reply.  So in the case where we want to keep the historical ownership it sounds like we would like to deactivate the user and not remove them. That sparks two additional questions...

(1) If the user is only deactivated, does that account still count as an allocated seat against our licensing?

(2) If the user is removed and they are the sole owner on a project, are they removed as the owner and therefore the project has no owner?  Assumption here is that the owner is not updated prior to removing the user account.

Thanks in advance.

-g.

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

@Gretchen A deactivated user takes a license seat, and when a user is removed, the project will have no owner. I'd recommend adding a note to the project description about the previous owner of the project. Or, if you'd like to keep track of such projects, you could add a Custom Field where you can add a name of the ex-owner. 

Hope that helps 🙂

Lisa Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

Lisa Wrike Team member Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

Hi Lisa, 

I have another follow up question. What happens to a dashboard when a user is removed? Will all dashboards (shared with others) be removed as well? 

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

@Caitlin Hey 🙂 The Dashboards will still be there, and users will not be able to unshare/delete them. That can be done through our Support team, please let me know if you need me to create a ticket for you 👍

Lisa Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

Lisa Wrike Team member Become a Wrike expert with Wrike Discover

1
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

Thank you Lisa! 👍

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

Hi Lisa! I have a question on this topic. We recently deleted a user, and I transferred all tasks to another user. I did notice that a lot of the blueprint tasks did not transfer, and some active tasks did not transfer which was odd. Also, I assume it only transfers active tasks and not completed, because none of those transferred. 

Most importantly I noticed that now when I run a report for tasks completed by my team using Wrike Analyze, that deleted user is no longer counted so our number of tasks completed are significantly off. Is there a simple workaround for this so we can still have that information? We do not keep all tasks in the same folder and there are people assigned to tasks in our space that should not be counted in this report which is why I don't pull the report by folder or space. 

Thanks for your help. 

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos
Hello Shermaine Russell, thank you for bringing this to us. Regarding your questions:
 
- I'm afraid Blueprints, as you point out, are not transferred after deletion.
- All tasks (including completed tasks) should be transferred to the relevant user.
- About your Wrike Analyze reports, I've created a ticket with our Support Team on your behalf so one of our experts can assist you with this.
 
Please, let us know if you have any other questions!

Juan Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager En savoir plus sur les fonctionalités et les meilleures pratiques grace à nos Webinaires online

Juan Wrike Team member En savoir plus sur les fonctionalités et les meilleures pratiques grace à nos Webinaires online

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

Hi Juan, can we also create a Wrike ticket for your note above that all completed tasks should be transferred to the designated employee when another employee is deleted? I know for a fact that did not happen, and I would like to look into that process. Please advise. Thanks! 

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos
Hi Shermaine Russell, thank you for your reply. Absolutely, I have opened a different ticket to address this situation. Our Support Team will reach out to you soon to investigate your case.
 
Thank you!

Juan Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager En savoir plus sur les fonctionalités et les meilleures pratiques grace à nos Webinaires online

Juan Wrike Team member En savoir plus sur les fonctionalités et les meilleures pratiques grace à nos Webinaires online

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

What happens to Time Entries after a user is deleted? Can we still see their time entries even after they are deleted?

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

Hi Scott Taft, welcome to the Community! When you delete a user, their previous time entries will remain visible, for instance in calculated fields in a report or in the Timelog view. Please, let us know if you have any additional questions 👍

Also, I'd like to mention that you can check our New to Community forum to discover all the resources you can find in our Community 🙂

Juan Community Team at Wrike Wrike Product Manager En savoir plus sur les fonctionalités et les meilleures pratiques grace à nos Webinaires online

Juan Wrike Team member En savoir plus sur les fonctionalités et les meilleures pratiques grace à nos Webinaires online

0
👍 Spot On 💡 Innovative Approach 💪 Stellar Advice ✅ Solved 🪄 Remove Kudos

Folllowing List for Post: What happens to tasks when a user is deactivated or deleted?
[this list is visible for admins and agents only]

Haut de la page
Didn’t find what you were looking for? Write new post