Remove, Delete or Deactivate and in what order?

I've read multiple posts on this subject, but I still can't figure out the correct process. We've had multiple employees leave the company since July. Each person has a license/seat and one was a Wrike Admin. I would like to do several things, but I'm not sure what the correct order would be.

1. I want to free up the seat (4 in total)

2. I want to be able to keep the person as a previous owner of the project and tasks

3. I only want to see/view the current employees/users and only use the previous employees for historical project status.

What is the best way to achieve all of this and in what order?

 

Thanks,

Tammy

0
9 comments
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

if you want to be able to free open a seat and still view the tasks they were assigned, then Deleting would be your best bet. a deactivated account still takes up a seat. when deleting - the user is permanently removed. deactivating allows you to reactivate them at a later time.

when you delete an account you can still see the tasks that they were assigned, just wont be able to sort/filter by their name.  

1
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

Thanks Daniel. Since they've left the company, there wouldn't be a reason that we would need to reactivate them if we've deactivated them. I would, however, like to continue to search for various projects that each person worked on. Mainly for historical purposes only. I've started to create a custom field for "Previous Owner", but I'm not sure if I need to search for each owner individually and then do a mass edit to assign all of the projects/tasks to the previous owner, and THEN delete them as the owner? 

0
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

when we deleted a user, earlier this year, i assigned all their work to the new assignee (prior to deleting) and ended up archiving the tasks/projects with the status Cancelled. the new owner then reviewed the archive folder and made the decision whether or not we wanted to continue working on it. 

i think your custom field option would work. you also have the option to reassign all work to somebody when deleting the account, the system will prompt you this option. but that wont allow you to "use the previous employees for historical project status." unless you go into each task and manually review? not sure. 

1
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

Great idea with archiving the tasks/projects. Thanks for the advice! I'll do this.

0
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

We deleted some users last month and their tasks just remained as they are. You then see an X instead of a photo or the initials. I think it is the only way to free the seats.

During deletion the main admin can choose if somebody gets knowledge of all tasks. So for each comapny side we have an own admin who gets knowledge of all the tasks of the deleted user of his side. This leads to a folder in whcih all tasks (assigned to or created by the delted user), dashboards, projects... are linked and the admin can see this. So he can decide if the task can be left as it is or if the task has to be reassigned to another person. If you work with the status of the task all active tasks can be reassigned by the admin all finished tasks can just stay as they are. The good thing is that the name of the deleted user remains and so you can still serach for him.

1
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

When we have a user leave the company, we also delete the users to help free up seats for new users. While also making sure past employees don't have access to the system anymore. 

1
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

Thanks for sharing those workarounds Daniel and Sven!

It's ridiculous you have to delete a user entirely in order to free up seats. "Deactivated" is a misnomer, it gives the impression it's not being counted as an active seat this way, but turns out Wrike does count them. "Paused" would be more accurate, in this case.
I also would like to hang on to historical data, and the only way to do that now is by implementing manual workarounds as described above, which take up time and effort. It's a poor user experience.

0
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

how i can make sure when a staff leaves they do not delete their records how i can protect as an admin all my datas without anybody can delete anything

0
Spot On Innovative Approach Stellar Advice

Dirk Sass you can not when you gave them the right to delete.

But you can in general give any user the rights to do something or not (see Access Roles in Wrike – Wrike Help Center). You have prepared roles from Wrike and you can make own roles. The problem is that not to allow to delete something limits the way of working (problem is that deleteing is the same for Wrike as to move a task from one project to another). 

So for us we have the rule that normal coworkers in a project have no right to delete a task (the editor access role). But project managers have an own access role we defined with possibility to delete and only admins have full access role. As you can do this for any project or folder separatly we see no risk if somebody leaves as he could only delete his own project. And if somebody does so then something would be very wrong long time before.

 

0

Folllowing List for Post: Remove, Delete or Deactivate and in what order?
[this list is visible for admins and agents only]

Top
Didn’t find what you were looking for? Write new post