All articles

Share Tasks, Folders, and Projects (Free and Professional)

Regular Users on all account types can share Tasks, Folders and Projects.

⏱ 2.5 min read

Overview

Share a Task, Folder or Project with users to give them access to that item. Once a Folder or Project is shared with a user, they will also have access to all of its Subfolders, Subprojects, tasks, and subtasks. As you add tasks, Subfolders, and Subprojects to a parent Folder/Project, those items are automatically shared with the users who have access to the parent Folder/Project.

Note! If you’re on a Business account or above, please use our pages for sharing tasks and sharing Folders and Projects.

Important Information

  • When you unshare a Folder or Project from a user, all of its Subfolders, Subprojects, tasks, and subtasks are automatically unshared from that user as well. The only exceptions are items that have been explicitly shared with the user.
  • You are not able to unshare an item from someone if they have access to a parent Task, Folder, or Project.
  • Collaborators and External Users cannot share items in Wrike.

Share a Folder or Project

  1. Right click on a Folder or Project from the Folder tree.
  2. Select “Share”.
  3. Start typing a user’s name or email address.
  4. Click on their name when it appears.
  5. Click “Save”.

The designated person now has access to the Folder/Project.

Unshare a Folder or Project

  1. Right click a Folder or Project from the Folder tree.
  2. Select “Share”. You’ll see everyone who has access to the Folder/Project.
  3. Hover over the name of the person who you want to stop sharing the Folder/Project with (you may need to scroll to see it) and click the ‘x” which appears.
  4. Click “Save”.

Wrike Tip🔥 You can also open the sharing pop-up window from within a Folder/Project info panel: click “Private” (if the item isn’t shared with anyone) or “Shared” next to the three-dot menu and follow steps 3 and 4 above.

Share a Task

  1. Open the task you want to share.
  2. Click the share icon  in the Task View.
  3. Start typing the name or email address of the person you want to give access to the task.
  4. Click on their name when it appears.
  5. Click “Save”.

✋Note! When you share a task you automatically share all of its subtasks.

Unshare a Task

  1. Open the task you want to unshare.
  2. Click the share icon in the Task View. You’ll see everyone who the task is shared with.
  3. Hover over the name of the person who you want to stop sharing the task with (you may need to scroll to see it) and click the ‘x’ which appears.*
  4. Click “Save”.

*If you see an “info” icon instead of an ‘x’, the task must stay shared with the corresponding person (it can’t be unshared). Hover over it to see an explanation for why it can’t be unshared.

Items You Can’t Unshare

You cannot unshare:

  • A task from the person who created it or the person assigned to it.
  • A Project from its owner.

More Info

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Top